Main Track

The Diagrams conference provides a united forum for all researchers with an interest in the study of diagrams. The conference fosters multi-disciplinarity and allows researchers from areas such as computer science, mathematics, psychology, philosophy, history (of science, art, etc.), education research, and more to meet and share their perspectives on the theory and application of diagrams.
For 2024, topics of the main track include, but are not limited to:

  • applications of diagrams,
  • computational models of reasoning with, and interpretation of, diagrams,
  • design of diagrammatic notations,
  • diagram understanding by humans or machines,
  • diagram aesthetics and layout,
  • evaluation of diagrammatic notations,
  • graphical communication and literacy,
  • heterogeneous notations involving diagrams,
  • history of diagrams,
  • information visualization using diagrams,
  • nature of diagrams and diagramming,
  • novel technologies for diagram use,
  • reasoning with diagrams,
  • semiotics of diagrams,
  • diagrams in multimodal communication,
  • software to support the use of diagrams, and
  • usability and human-computer interaction issues concerning diagrams.

In addition to the main track, Diagrams 2024 will have two special tracks: Philosophy and Psychology and Education. If the main research contribution of your submission is considered to fit on either of these themes then you are encouraged to submit to the respective special track, each of which has a dedicated program committee.

Submission Categories

We invite submissions for peer review that focus on any aspect of diagrams research, as follows:

  • Long Papers (16 pages)
  • Short Papers (8 pages)
  • Posters (4 pages – this is both a maximum and minimum requirement)
  • Abstracts, i.e. non-archival contributions (3 pages)

Details for all submission categories and formatting guidelines and requirements can be found at: Submission Page.

Long Papers, Short Papers and Posters will be published in the proceedings. Abstracts will not be included in the published proceedings but will be made available on the conference web site. Abstracts allow for conference presentations without the need to publish a paper. Presentations of all categories of submissions are expected to be given at the conference.


The proceedings will be published by Springer in a Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) proceedings volume. Authors must consult and follow Springer’s formatting requirements (see Submission Page).

Previous editions of Diagrams were also published by Springer.

The proceedings are expected to be published at the first day of the conference, i.e. 27th September 2024.

**************************************************************************** Conference

The conference will include presentations of accepted Papers, Posters, and Abstracts, alongside a graduate symposium, workshops and tutorials.

At least one author of each accepted submission will be expected to attend at the conference to present their research and respond to questions presented by delegates.

The conference will take place at the 27th September to 1st October 2024 at the University of Münster.

How to Submit
Submissions should be made by the respective deadline via EasyChair: .


Track Chair: Petrucio Viana, Federal Fluminense University

Program Committee

Andrew Blake, University of Brighton
Andrew Schumann, University of Information Technology and Management in Rzeszow
Arnold Oostra, University of Tolima
Atsushi Shimojima, Doshisha University
Daniel Raggi, University of Cambridge
Frank Thomas Sautter, Universidade Federal de Santa Maria
Gennaro Costagliola, Università di Salerno
Ivan Varzinczak, Univ. Artois and CNRS
Jacques Fleuriot, The University of Edinburgh
Kim Marriott, Monash University
Margit Pohl, Vienna University of Technology
Mark Minas, Universität der Bundeswehr München
Matthias Thimm, FernUniversität in Hagen
Michael Klasen, Münster University
Michael Stoelzner, University of South Carolina
Mihir Chakraborty, Jadavpur University
Mohanad Alqadah, Umm Al-Qura University
Paweł Sobociński, Tallinn University of Technology
Peter Chapman, Edinburgh Napier University
Peter Rodgers, University of Kent
Reinhard von Hanxleden, University of Kiel
Stephanie Schwartz, Millersville University
Uta Priss, Ostfalia University
Viktor Blasjo, Utrecht University
Yasuhiro Katagiri, Future University Hakodate