Philosophy of Diagrams

The Diagrams conference provides a united forum for all researchers with an interest in the study of diagrams. The conference fosters multi-disciplinarity and allows researchers from areas such as computer science, mathematics, psychology, philosophy, history (of science, art, etc.), education research, and more to meet and share their perspectives on the theory and application of diagrams.

For 2024, we will have a special track devoted to philosophical issues pertaining to diagrams. Special theme topics include any research on the philosophy of diagrams, such as:
– aesthetic properties of diagrams,
– cultural, metaphysical, epistemological aspects of diagrams,
– diagrams for syllogisms,
– diagrams in formal logic,
– diagrams in mathematical practice,
– diagrams in the mind,
– historical aspects of diagrams,
– iconicity and ‘naturalness’ of diagrams,
– imagination,
– philosophy of notation,
– reasoning and argumentation with diagrams,
– semantics and/or pragmatics of diagrams,
– semiotics of diagrams,
– square of opposition, trees and graphs,
– the nature and definition of diagrams and diagramming,
– the work of philosophers such as Plato and C. S. Peirce
– visualization and intuition.

In addition to the Philosophy track, Diagrams 2024 will have two further tracks: Main, and Psychology & Education. If the main research contribution of your submission is considered to fit either of the other tracks then you are strongly encouraged to submit to the respective special track, each of which has a dedicated program committee.

Submission Categories

We invite submissions for peer review that focus on any aspect of diagrams research, as follows:

  • Long Papers (16 pages)
  • Short Papers (8 pages)
  • Posters (4 pages – this is both a maximum and minimum requirement)
  • Abstracts, i.e. non-archival contributions (3 pages)

Details for all submission categories and formatting guidelines and requirements can be found at: Submission Page

Long Papers, Short Papers and Posters will be published in the proceedings. Abstracts will not be included in the published proceedings but will be made available on the conference web site. Abstracts allow for conference presentations without the need to publish a paper. Presentations of all categories of submissions are expected to be given at the conference.


The proceedings will be published by Springer in a Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) proceedings volume. Authors must consult and follow Springer’s formatting requirements (see Submission Page).

Previous editions of Diagrams were also published by Springer.

The proceedings are expected to be published at the first day of the conference, i.e. 27th September 2024.

**************************************************************************** Conference

The conference will include presentations of accepted Papers, Posters, and Abstracts, alongside a graduate symposium, workshops and tutorials.

At least one author of each accepted submission will be expected to attend the conference to present their research and respond to questions presented by delegates.

The conference will take place at the 27th September to 1st October 2024 at the University of Münster.

How to Submit
Submissions should be made by the respective deadline via EasyChair:


Track Chair: Reetu Bhattacharjee, University of Münster

Programm Committee

Amirouche Moktefi, Tallinn University of Technology
Andrew Aberdein, Florida Institute of Technology
Ben Blumson, National University of Singapore
Brendan Larvor, University of Hertfordshire
Cathy Legg, Deakin University
Daniele Chiffi, Politecnico di Milano
Dave Beisecker, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Dirk Schlimm, McGill University
Fabien Schang, Universidade Federal de Goiás
Francesco Bellucci, University of Bologna
Hans Smessaert, KU Leuven
Henri Prade, IRIT – CNRS
Henrik Kragh Sørensen, University of Copenhagen
Ingolf Max, University of Leipzig
Ioannis Vandoulakis, Hellenic Open University
Javier Legris, Universidad de Buenos Aires
Jean Van Bendegem, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
José Martín Castro-Manzano, Universidad Popular Autónoma del Estado de Puebla
Lorenz Demey, KU Leuven
Marco Segala, Università degli Studi dell’Aquila
Mario Piazza, Scuola normale superiore Pisa
Nathan Haydon, Tallinn University of Technology
Silvia De Toffoli, School for Advanced Studies IUSS Pavia
Timm Lampert, FernUniversität in Hagen
Volker Peckhaus, University of Paderborn